Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NASDAQ · Technology · Holders

Silicon Motion Technology (SIMO) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top SIMO institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 29, 9:52 AM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 9:39 AM EDT

Ownership read

SIMO insider transaction activity: Net selling.

FMR, LLC is the largest institutional holder. 3 sales and 0 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

SIMO

Purchases0
Sales6.50K

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

2.28M

FMR, LLC

Insider transaction activity

Net selling

$1.93M sold / $0.0000 bought

Observations shown

13

10 holder / 3 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
6
4 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
3
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
31.81% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 6,500

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 3

Top 10 institutional holders

Silicon Motion Technology (SIMO) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Silicon Motion Technology (SIMO) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
FMR, LLC
6.72%2.28M-32.97%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
Acadian Asset Management. LLC
3.88%1.32M+1.71%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
Invesco Ltd.
3.37%1.14M+173.12%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
Alkeon Capital Management LLC
3.24%1.10M+100.00%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
Hawk Ridge Capital Management, LP
2.99%1.02M-13.47%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
Reinhart Partners, LLC
2.85%966.06K-26.48%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
Polar Capital Holdings PLC
2.75%931.38K+100.00%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
Driehaus Capital Management, LLC
2.32%786.07K+54.14%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
Two Sigma Investments, LP
2.07%701.11K+155.34%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
Wolf Hill Capital Management, LP
1.62%548.79K-5.52%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Silicon Motion Technology (SIMO) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

Silicon Motion Technology (SIMO) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesPriceValueTransaction date
1
LIN KUAN-MING
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

3.00K$310.11$930,320Jun 18, 2026
2
SHIEH HAN-PING PH.D.
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.00K$314.63$629,250Jun 18, 2026
3
DUANN SHII-TYNG
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

1.50K$245.00$367,500May 6, 2026
Showing 3 of 3 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest SIMO shareholders?

FMR, LLC is the largest reported institutional holder of SIMO, with 2.28 million shares, or about 6.72% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for SIMO?

Silicon Motion Technology has 10 institutional rows on file: 6 increased or initiated positions and 4 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for SIMO?

TECHi shows 3 dated SIMO insider transactions through Jun 18, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are SIMO insiders buying or selling?

The displayed SIMO activity reads Net selling: 3 sales and 0 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported SIMO insider?

LIN KUAN-MING has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed SIMO filing rows, totaling 3,000 shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.