Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NASDAQ · Technology · Holders

Shopify Inc. (SHOP) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top SHOP institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 29, 9:54 AM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 9:27 AM EDT · Statements Jun 30, 2026

Ownership read

SHOP insider transaction activity: Administrative only.

Capital International Investors is the largest institutional holder. The recent Form 4 filings are mostly awards, gifts, option exercises, conversions, or administrative transactions rather than open-market buys and sells. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Top holder

54.89M

Capital International Investors

Insider transaction activity

Administrative only

Based on recent Form 4 action codes

Observations shown

130

10 holder / 120 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
8
2 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
120
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
27.16% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 0

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Other / unclassified: 120

Top 10 institutional holders

Shopify Inc. (SHOP) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Shopify Inc. (SHOP) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
Capital International Investors
4.54%54.89M+9.66%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
FMR, LLC
3.90%47.18M+2.93%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
Invesco Ltd.
3.03%36.57M+0.53%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
Vanguard Capital Management LLC
2.82%34.13M+1.18%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
Capital World Investors
2.82%34.09M+1.16%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
BAILLIE GIFFORD & CO
2.35%28.40M-2.13%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
Morgan Stanley
2.11%25.52M+3.29%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
Price (T.Rowe) Associates Inc
2.05%24.75M-1.06%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
Royal Bank of Canada
1.95%23.53M+8.66%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
FIL LTD
1.59%19.28M+5.76%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Shopify Inc. (SHOP) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

Shopify Inc. (SHOP) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesTransaction date
1
Lutke (Tobias Albin)
Director of Issuer
<0.01%Disposition under a purchase/ownership planProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

33.75KSep 23, 2026
2
Lutke (Tobias Albin)
Director of Issuer
<0.01%Disposition under a purchase/ownership planProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

6.75KSep 23, 2026
3
Lutke (Tobias Albin)
Director of Issuer
<0.01%Disposition under a purchase/ownership planProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

37.50KSep 22, 2026
4
Lutke (Tobias Albin)
Director of Issuer
<0.01%Disposition under a purchase/ownership planProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

7.50KSep 22, 2026
5
Finkelstein (Harley Michael)
Senior Officer of Issuer
<0.01%Exercise of optionsProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

5.00KSep 22, 2026
6
Finkelstein (Harley Michael)
Senior Officer of Issuer
<0.01%Disposition under a purchase/ownership planProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

5.00KSep 22, 2026
7
Lutke (Tobias Albin)
Director of Issuer
<0.01%Disposition under a purchase/ownership planProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

15.00KSep 16, 2026
8
Lutke (Tobias Albin)
Director of Issuer
<0.01%Disposition under a purchase/ownership planProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

3.00KSep 16, 2026
9
Finkelstein (Harley Michael)
Senior Officer of Issuer
<0.01%Exercise of optionsProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

3.00KSep 15, 2026
10
Finkelstein (Harley Michael)
Senior Officer of Issuer
<0.01%Disposition under a purchase/ownership planProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

3.00KSep 15, 2026
11
Finkelstein (Harley Michael)
Senior Officer of Issuer
<0.01%Exercise of optionsProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

3.00KSep 15, 2026
12
Finkelstein (Harley Michael)
Senior Officer of Issuer
<0.01%Disposition under a purchase/ownership planProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Other / unclassified
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

3.00KSep 15, 2026
Showing 12 of 120 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest SHOP shareholders?

Capital International Investors is the largest reported institutional holder of SHOP, with 54.89 million shares, or about 4.54% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for SHOP?

Shopify Inc. has 10 institutional rows on file: 8 increased or initiated positions and 2 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for SHOP?

TECHi shows 120 dated SHOP insider transactions through Sep 23, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are SHOP insiders buying or selling?

The displayed SHOP activity reads Administrative only: 0 sales and 0 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported SHOP insider?

Shopify Inc has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed SHOP filing rows, totaling 2.44 million shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.