Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NYSE · Healthcare · Holders

Eli Lilly & Co. (LLY) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top LLY institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 29, 9:54 AM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 9:35 AM EDT · Statements Jun 30, 2026

Ownership read

LLY insider transaction activity: Net selling.

Lilly Endowment, Inc is the largest institutional holder. 31 sales and 0 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

LLY

Purchases0
Sales2.68M

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

90.38M

Lilly Endowment, Inc

Insider transaction activity

Net selling

$2.68B sold / $0.0000 bought

Observations shown

130

10 holder / 120 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
6
4 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
120
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
43.10% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 2,683,430

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Grant: 69
  • Gift: 6
  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 31
  • Other / unclassified: 14

Top 10 institutional holders

Eli Lilly & Co. (LLY) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Eli Lilly & Co. (LLY) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
Lilly Endowment, Inc
9.60%90.38M-1.65%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
Blackrock Inc.
7.17%67.54M+1.75%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
Vanguard Capital Management LLC
5.69%53.53M+0.31%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
PNC Financial Services Group, Inc.
5.45%51.32M-0.01%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
State Street Corporation
3.85%36.22M+1.70%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
FMR, LLC
3.02%28.46M+8.05%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
Capital Research Global Investors
2.22%20.87M-15.26%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC
2.22%20.86M-0.56%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
Geode Capital Management, LLC
2.16%20.31M+0.59%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
Morgan Stanley
1.72%16.23M+5.11%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Eli Lilly & Co. (LLY) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

Eli Lilly & Co. (LLY) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesTransaction date
1
SULZBERGER GABRIELLE
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

4Sep 21, 2026
2
LUCIANO JUAN R
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

13Sep 21, 2026
3
ALVAREZ RALPH
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

10Sep 21, 2026
4
FYRWALD J. ERIK
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

8Sep 21, 2026
5
SEYMOUR MELISSA
Officer
<0.01%Stock GiftProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Gift
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

29Sep 9, 2026
6
HERNANDEZ EDGARDO
Officer
<0.01%Stock GiftProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Gift
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

13Sep 2, 2026
7
DOZIER ERIC
Officer
<0.01%Stock GiftProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Gift
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

216Sep 2, 2026
8
SULZBERGER GABRIELLE
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

4Aug 17, 2026
9
LUCIANO JUAN R
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

13Aug 17, 2026
10
JONSSON PATRIK
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

6.50KAug 17, 2026
11
ALVAREZ RALPH
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

10Aug 17, 2026
12
FYRWALD J. ERIK
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

8Aug 17, 2026
Showing 12 of 120 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest LLY shareholders?

Lilly Endowment, Inc is the largest reported institutional holder of LLY, with 90.38 million shares, or about 9.60% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for LLY?

Eli Lilly & Co. has 10 institutional rows on file: 6 increased or initiated positions and 4 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for LLY?

TECHi shows 120 dated LLY insider transactions through Sep 21, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are LLY insiders buying or selling?

The displayed LLY activity reads Net selling: 31 sales and 0 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported LLY insider?

LILLY ENDOWMENT, INC. has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed LLY filing rows, totaling 2.67 million shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.