Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NASDAQ · Healthcare · Holders

Illumina Inc. (ILMN) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top ILMN institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 29, 9:54 AM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 9:35 AM EDT · Statements Jun 28, 2026

Ownership read

ILMN insider transaction activity: Mixed, sale-heavy.

Blackrock Inc. is the largest institutional holder. 18 sales and 4 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

ILMN

Purchases19.15K
Sales3.07M

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

19.19M

Blackrock Inc.

Insider transaction activity

Mixed, sale-heavy

$592.86M sold / $1.58M bought

Observations shown

91

10 holder / 81 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
5
5 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
81
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
49.73% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 3,051,831

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Grant: 50
  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 22
  • Conversion / exercise: 3
  • Other / unclassified: 6

Top 10 institutional holders

Illumina Inc. (ILMN) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Illumina Inc. (ILMN) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
Blackrock Inc.
12.7%19.19M+0.88%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
Capital World Investors
10.2%15.43M-0.80%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC
4.39%6.63M-2.88%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
Vanguard Capital Management LLC
4.36%6.59M-0.11%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
State Street Corporation
4.31%6.51M+1.21%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
WCM Investment Management, LLC
4.11%6.21M+4.79%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
FMR, LLC
3.00%4.52M+192.43%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
AQR Capital Management, LLC
2.35%3.54M-10.97%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
Primecap Management Company
2.33%3.51M+70.01%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
Geode Capital Management, LLC
1.95%2.95M-3.43%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Illumina Inc. (ILMN) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

Illumina Inc. (ILMN) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesTransaction date
1
COLETTI JULIE ANN
Officer
0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

18.76KSep 8, 2026
2
MEISTER KEITH A
Director
0.17%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

263.56KSep 4, 2026
3
MEISTER KEITH A
Director
0.25%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

375.94KAug 27, 2026
4
MEISTER KEITH A
Director
0.45%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

679.57KAug 21, 2026
5
WEDEL CHRISTENSEN JAKOB
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

1.03KAug 18, 2026
6
SULLIVAN MICHAEL C
Officer
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

4.50KAug 5, 2026
7
MEISTER KEITH A
Director
0.49%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

741.13KAug 5, 2026
8
DAVIES SCOTT M
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

615Jul 30, 2026
9
MEISTER KEITH A
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

142Jun 30, 2026
10
ULLEM SCOTT B
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

167Jun 30, 2026
11
DAVIES SCOTT M
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

615Jun 25, 2026
12
SKOVRONSKY DANIEL
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

1.67KJun 16, 2026
Showing 12 of 81 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest ILMN shareholders?

Blackrock Inc. is the largest reported institutional holder of ILMN, with 19.19 million shares, or about 12.71% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for ILMN?

Illumina Inc. has 10 institutional rows on file: 5 increased or initiated positions and 5 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for ILMN?

TECHi shows 81 dated ILMN insider transactions through Sep 8, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are ILMN insiders buying or selling?

The displayed ILMN activity reads Mixed, sale-heavy: 18 sales and 4 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported ILMN insider?

MEISTER KEITH A has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed ILMN filing rows, totaling 3.43 million shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.